Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

This is like moving into a house that’s framed and walled with all the windows and doors in place but much left to be completed.  I’ve discovered there’s lots of tinkering and polishing left to be done on my blog and useful features to be discovered and learned.  It’s not quite as simple as picking up a pad of paper and a pen.

Now I find myself staring at the proverbial blank sheet of paper, except that this paper is electronic and my words will take on a digital form.  It will be interesting to see what I come up with for each post.

It’s not like writing for my previous review sites, where for each post my subject was determined by a CD I’d auditioned or a book I’d read.  I’ve set a trap for myself.  There is no preset agenda here but only the blank white space in front of me.  Subject matter here is open-ended, a blank landscape which I need to populate with something interesting.

This is me rambling as I wait for my mind to kick into gear.  It’s not happening, or at least it’s happening very slowly.  I suspect this is the way it works with most writers.  There is no automatic drive.  It all needs to be done manually.  At some point it may start to roll along smoothly and pick up speed but at first it requires you to push and push until you feel it start to roll downhill then jump into the driver’s seat, turn the key, and throw it into gear.

There you go.  Car metaphors pulled from the cars I had owned in the early Sixties.  Stare at that blank page long enough, this and that will begin to rise from your unconscious.  These things may at first seem unconnected and unrelated to each other.  Still, they’re something.  Write.  Put pen to paper, digits to keys, voice to tape, but get it down.  At some point some of it will come together and gel.

The Canadian author W. O. Mitchell swore by a process he called Free-Falling.  This was it.  Forget writer’s block.  Just start typing.  Type whatever comes to mind.  Fill page after page.  Eventually some elements will shine through, interconnected with each other.  These will become the core of your short story, your novel, your script for a film or play.  Yes, of course this is only one way to approach writing, but when all else fails it’s a sure way to get your thoughts out and connecting.

In fact, my method, coming as it does from my experience as a writer in newspaper and commercial radio, is quite different than the Free Fall of Mitchell, a playwright and novelist, but I can tell you about that another time.  Meanwhile, this sort of random brainstorm may be something you’ll want to try next time you encounter writer’s block.

